Milk kefir: easy to make, great tasting, and good for you too!

A few years ago, I started making homemade yogurt. I loved yogurt and ate it every day, but I hated the idea of all those little plastic containers going into the trash. I figured there had to be a cheaper, more sustainable option, so I searched the internet and found directions on making homemade yogurt.

I was so used to the sweetened, flavored yogurts that the taste of homemade yogurt took some getting used to. I had to wean myself off the need for sugar in it by reducing the amount of sugar I added each week until I was adding none. Now, the flavor doesn’t bother me at all, but I stopped making yogurt after a couple of batches didn’t turn out like they should have. Yogurt can be a bit finicky sometimes.

Then, last year, I discovered milk kefir smoothies at the grocery store and I loved them! So good and a lot like the yogurt I loved. I figured out that you can make kefir at home for much cheaper than buying the bottles of it from the store, so a couple months ago I bought some kefir grains from a seller on etsy and dove in.

Milk kefir is much more forgiving than yogurt is! It’s so simple and takes very little effort to get a great tasting smoothie that’s also good for you. If you’ve never had Greek or unflavored yogurt, you may find milk kefir to be a bit sour. I would recommend adding a little sugar at first and then weaning yourself off it like I did with the homemade yogurt. I drink a homemade milk kefir smoothie each morning, flavored with blueberries or strawberries (or both).

milk kefir

 

This is what my milk kefir looks like after sitting on the counter for 24 hours. It’s ready to be strained!

milk kefir

I admit that this doesn’t really look very appetizing.

milk kefir

Strain the liquid from the grains into another jar. You have to move the kefir around a bit to help get the liquid moving.

IMG_0085

You’ll end up with this smooth, thick liquid. Blend in fruit and enjoy!

Kefir is full of good bacteria that help regulate your digestive system. You know all those commercials talking about probiotics in yogurt or special pills? You can get that same thing easily by making your own milk kefir. It’s SO simple to make. Just add some kefir grains to a jar with milk, cover with cheesecloth or a paper towel, and let it sit on the counter for 24 hours. Then strain it and you have kefir. It takes very little attention or work from you to produce.

You can read more about the benefits of kefir at this article: Why We Need Probiotics and the Benefits of Kefir.

Leave a comment